Kiribati (/ˌkɪrɪˈbæs, –ˈbɑːti/),[8] officially the Republic of Kiribati (Gilbertese: Ribaberiki Kiribati),[1][4][9] is a country in the central Pacific Ocean. The permanent population is just over 110,000 (2015), more than half of whom live on Tarawa atoll. The state comprises 32 atolls and one raised coral island, Banaba. They have a total land area of 800 square kilometres (310 sq mi)[10] and are dispersed over 3.5 million square kilometres (1.3 million square miles). In terms with its Exclusive Economic Zone in the Pacific, it straddles all three primary geographic regions; Banaba (MelanesianMicronesian Border), the Gilbert Islands (Micronesia) and the Line and Phoenix Islands (Polynesia).


No posts found
%d bloggers like this: